January 27, 2023

Crystal Updates: Be the first to Know!

Gomoa East MP picks forms to seek re-election

Politics of Sunday, 16 February 2020

Source: Graphic.com.gh

The incumbent New Patriotic Party (NPP) Member of Parliament for Gomoa East Constituency in the Central Region, Mr Kojo Asemanyi, has picked nominations forms to seek for re-election with a call on delegates of the party to renew his mandate to enable him to serve another four year term.

Mr Asemanyi, who was accompanied by his colleague MPs, Mr Ekow Hayford, Mr Elvis Morris Donkor, Mr Alexander Abban and Mr Bright Wireko-Brobbey, Members of Parliament for Mfantseman, Abura Asebu Kwamankese, Hemang Lower Denkyira and Gomoa West Constituencies respectively, held a procession through some principal streets in Gomoa Nyanyano Kakraba before picking his forms.

The 2015 primary of the NPP was finally decided after a re-run between Kojo Asemanyi and Dr Marqus Yaw Danso. Asemanyi beat Dr Danso with six votes in the primary and went ahead to defeat Desmond Degraft Paitoo of the NDC to win the seat for the NPP.

Addressing his supporters after picking his forms, Mr Asemanyi said that if not to deepen the democracy in the constituency, he should have gone unopposed since he had performed creditably in his first term.

He mentioned that since the NPP is a democratic party, every well-meaning party faithful who has the desire and ability to contest in the upcoming primary must not be prevented but allowed to contest in the election.

Agenda to change candidate

He noted that it was rather sad some individuals who were not part of the house-to-house and door-to-door campaign employed by the party that recaptured the seat from the National Democratic Congress(NDC) who had held on to the seat for two terms are now pushing an agenda for him to be changed.

He explained that such an agenda by some self-seeking individuals must not entertained as it would enable the NDC to win back the seat, saying that “there is no need to change the party’s parliamentary candidate if the party want to consolidate its victory in the December 7, 2020 general elections.

He stressed that although the party won the seat in 2016 with 2,600 votes, it would stretch it to more than 10,000 votes.

He called on the party members to be united and not allow some moles within the party to break their ranks and convince them to vote for a new candidate to lead the party into the upcoming elections.

For his part, the District Chief Executive, Mr Solomon Darko Quarm, who has thrown his weight behind the sitting MP, said the party worked so hard to win the seat in 2016 and that there was no need to replace the incumbent MP with a new candidate.

Related posts

%d bloggers like this: